Getting to Sleep… a meditation of sorts

I have a lot of trouble getting to sleep, some nights. A lot of nights, in fact. I have trouble relaxing, and once I am in bed, I have a hard time turning off my head and relaxing my body. Here is a kind of “meditation” I use to relax myself, stimulate my rest-and-recuperate parasympathetic nervous system, and eventually get to sleep. It incorporates pieces from guided imagery I listen to, techniques I’ve learned over the years, and elements of neuroscience.

Try it… you might like it.

First, lie down flat on your back in bed. Make sure your head and neck and spine are all aligned and well-supported by the bed beneath you. Shift your body a little bit, so that you release some tension and are better able to let your body rest fully on the bed beneath you.

Now, feel your body from head to toe. Feel how tense it is in places… Imagine that you are encased in a hard shell of tension…

Now, taking a deep breath, imagine that you are sending a deep breath down into your feet, into the very tips of your toes… As you inhale, imagine your skin is like a balloon, and your breath is expanding it around your toes and feet, inflating the “balloon” of your body…

Imagine the pressure of your expanding shell cracking the hard “case” of tension that’s surrounding you. When you have inhaled fully (and comfortably), hold your breath for just a split second and feel the little crackles of broken-up stress float free in the breath “in” your feet.

Now, exhale slowly and comfortably. As you do, imagine the little crackles of stress being carried out of your body on your breath. Exhale fully and comfortably, and when you are done, rest for just a split second before inhaling again.

Feel how relaxed your feet are, from your toes through the arches of your feet, up to the tops of your feet. Feel how relaxed your muscles are… how warm and soft and comfortable they are…

As you inhale the next time, send your breath down into your ankles, and “inflate” the “balloon” of your body around your ankles. Feel the warm breath warming your feet and ankles, and feel the rigid tension of your body breaking up into little pieces…

As you exhale again, slowly and easily, imagine the little free-floating pieces of tension being carried out of your body by your breath…

Feel how relaxed and comfortable your ankles are… Feel how warm and soft they are… almost as though they are falling into a sound, peaceful sleep…

Now, take another long, slow, deep breath, easily sending the breath down your legs to your shins, where they “inflate” the tough shell of tension around your lower legs. Feel the breath expanding the space around your calves, your shins… crackling the tension into tiny little pieces, so it can be carried out of your body…

As you exhale, feel the breath carrying the tension far, far away from you, leaving only warmth and relaxation behind it…

Keep moving up your body, “breathing into” the different hard places that are surrounded by a shell of tension, and letting the out-breath carry away those little broken-up pieces. Work your way up your body, from feet to legs to torso to arms, to shoulders, to head. Take your time and breathe deeply and comfortably. After each out-breath, let the parts of you that you breathed into relax fully and fall into sleep. Don’t worry about going to sleep yourself, just let your body relax and let all the tension fall away… It’s all good.

I have been doing this meditation a lot, lately, and on a good night, I can get to sleep before I’ve gotten past my thighs. The progressive relaxation helps me let go of the tension, and the deep breathing helps to stimulate my vagus nerve and the parasympathetic nervous system in general. Focusing on my breathing and my body keeps my mind from being driven to distraction when I’m trying to sleep. And just lying still and letting my body sink into the bed makes it possible for me to just… let… go… which is oh, so hard for me to do under waking conditions. Also, I have read that 15 minutes of conscious relaxation — not sitting around doing nothing, but actual relaxation, is like taking a 30-minute nap.  So, even if I/you don’t fall asleep right away, at least the body is getting some benefit from the experience.

I hope you find this helpful as you try to get to sleep.

2 thoughts on “Getting to Sleep… a meditation of sorts

  1. Thank you for this suggestion! I will try using it. I’ve been under a lot of stress lately in my house. Since December I’ve been quite the insomniac, staying up till 6 or 7 in the morning. I’m gonna give this meditation a try!

Talk about this - No email is required

