So, I’m not the only one whose memory got hosed…

Just found this article about Jamal Lewis’ decision to retire from football after a concussion.

This sounds eerily familiar:

After calling time on his playing days, it’s reported Lewis was unsure his retirement from the NFL was the right decision, but after talks with his wife, he knew it was time to retire.

“I felt confused and did’t know where I was, or what I was supposed to be doing. That’s football though, Coach Mangini makes the calls, I just try and decipher them”.

After the hit, Lewis started to complain more of concussion symtoms which lead to the former Pro-Bowler being placed on injured reserve. “I had terrible headaches, night terrors, my vision was blurred, and I had black spots in my memory.”

“It felt pretty good for the most part. It allowed me to relax. I took some time away with my kids, I just wanted to forget football for a while.”

However after the heavy hit, Lewis forgot about football almost entirely. While watching a repeat of popular-sitcom Friends, he turned to his wife “We’ve got enough money, the kids are set-up for life, I can retire. Look at those guys, they never work, and the live in Manhattan. That could be us, baby.”

Mrs Lewis didn’t take this well. A source close to the situation revealed she screamed in his face “YOU’RE 30 YEARS OLD JAMAL. YOU’RE THE GOD DAMN RUNNING BACK FOR THE CLEVELAND BROWNS!”

“I was in shock. I couldn’t believe what just happened. She’s never spoken to me like that before” remarked the former 1000-yard rusher. “And that’s when it all sunk in. I really did play for Cleveland.”

“The concussion wiped parts of my memory, and I guess I’d forgotten all about that time in my life”.

Yes, folks, that’s what a mild traumatic brain injury can do to you. And you don’t even realize it at the time. That’s one of the thins that makes this kind of injury so frustrating and confounding. You think you’re fine. You really do… but others know better.

The lucky ones have people around them who will tell them what the deal is and set them straight.

Meanwhile, the rest of us have to find out the hard way.

Talk about this - No email is required

