The hurt of the hidden wound

Got a tip about this article today. Good reading – check it out.

It was July 4, 2009 when Lieutenant Colonel Stewart Hill had his independence taken away from him. But he doesn’t remember much of what happened on that hot, dusty Saturday, and has no recollection at all of the moment the lights went out on his former life for ever.

His last memory was of a Chinook helicopter rising from a ploughed Afghan field. It carried the lifeless body of 18-year-old Private Robert Laws and other injured men of the Light Dragoons and 2 Mercian, victims of an attack with rocket-propelled grenades by the Taliban. After that, the gaps have to be filled in by others.

Read the rest here >>

8 thoughts on “The hurt of the hidden wound

  1. It is so interesting that many of us TBI survivors are so different than others.

    I have my senses of taste and smell unchanged from before the TBI.

    I lost eight weeks of my life. My last memory is about 10 minutes before the accident. My next memory was Father’s day. My VP stopped by for a visit and I remember one comment he made. I am told all five of my stepchildren were there…I remember nothing. I was flown from Albuquerque, NM to Denver, CO in a private ambulance plane. I have pictures of me being loaded onto a gourney, then into an ablulance and then nothing. Two weeks after Father’s day I got an NP to let me go home. Today I don’t think that was such a good idea…but how was I to know?

    Like Stewart Hill, I believe who I was before the accident/TBI died that day. My challege today is to come to understand who I am now and how to preserve my family and some semblance of who I was.

    The very best to Stewart, Melissa and their children!!!

    Stuart

Talk about this - No email is required

