Guest Post: Forgiving Innuendo….

Thoughts have power

Innuendo is invisible.

Innuendo is a whisper that steals your life, purpose and meaning without your consent.

Innuendo is fear-based and subtle – it controls our lives without us knowing it.

Innuendo stifles growth, responsibility, accountability, opportunity and our integrity.

Innuendo is the illusion everyone sees – but us.

Innuendo is contagious condescension and compliance without any regrets.

Innuendo works in the shadows to rain on our parade.

Innuendo is a single minded one-way discussion without compromise or change.

Innuendo separates, divides and alienates us from each other.

Innuendo is the story everyone tells – but us.

Innuendo breeds contempt and complicates finding enough.

Innuendo creates obstacles to achieving balance and harmony in our lives.

Innuendo is in collusion with denial.

Innuendo thrives on deceit to reinforce the negative.

Innuendo is the rumor everyone hears – but us.

Innuendo eliminates potential thru stigma and stereotype.

Innuendo manipulates truth and has a language all its own.

Innuendo is a cancer in our soul.

Innuendo never forgets.

– By Ken Collins

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

4 thoughts on “Guest Post: Forgiving Innuendo….”

  1. Thanks for helping get the word out! Innuendo is something that gets used against us and is hard to overcome. “He has never been the same since that accident” is something I got used against me. Thanks again for posting this – I really appreciate it!

    Like

  2. Innuendo is not always negative-it has the power of positivity, as when I was positive you finished WRITING another book! I was thrilled for you! Of course I inserted the “writing,” simply due to the sheer eloquence of your blog. I was certain, “Now this is a book I must buy.” You write so well and have much to say, I would certainly enjoy this book that you’ve just finished. My error that day 🙂

    In the meantime I am busily gathering facts, figures, mashing with a point-in-time specific, adding a segue into a broader message. I am not aware of how a guest post works. I do not know how I will fit the monstrous statistics of TBI into any piece I write and do them justice, then add my small one-experienced situation while also adding that with an ill population, otherwise frequently voiceless. Equally houseless and homeless exists a community having varying degrees of TBI with physical injuries, add the costs to the economy astronomical. I will figure out something, I love reading and writing.

    I do not know that I can condense fifty-six years of personal account into short shrift, but will, and as learned in my work for under-grad degrees, editing is a process, never completed. I, therefore trusted you understood, saw a compliment when it came your way, and was truly surprised you saw yourself as victimised and manipulated, rather than writing “…another book!”

    Like

  3. And thank you for sending your words. That “never been the same” can certainly sting. In some cases, though, not being the same can be a good thing. I had a friend who had a relative who sustained a brain injury. Before their injury, they were truly miserable, cruel, and hard to live with. Afterwards, they turned into a completely different person — pleasant, polite, patient, and loving. So, it was a good thing they were never the same. 🙂

    Like

  4. It’s always variable, depending on the perceptions of the people. As for the message, if you stick with one core fact or facet at a time, not only can you flesh that out, but you also never run out of things to write about. You end up with 500 smaller “bite-size” pieces that you can work on gradually, rather than overwhelming yourself with a monster task.

    I’m not sure I saw myself as victimized and manipulated… might not have expressed myself properly.

    But anyway, Happy Friday! The weekend is nearly here. 🙂

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.