Staying steady during the holidays

Keep it cool and mellow – but fun

The holidays are challenging for everyone. And if you get tired easily, as I do, they can be a real task at times. This year, things are going more slowly than in the past. All the travel in October and November took a big bite out of my home-time, and I ended up spending a fair amount of time recovering on my weekends and free hours, rather than doing productive things.

I did take care of a lot of things ahead of time, that I often wait till the last minute to do. Things like buying presents for family elsewhere… putting up the tree… getting my lists together, and so forth.

And I was actually a lot more efficient in many ways, than I have been in past years. I got my yard and outside of the house cleaned up in record time. And I have been cleaning and organizing and putting some thought and sweat equity into getting things sorted out. So,I feel like I’m more on top of things than I’ve been in a long, long time.

But the odd result is that everything feels much more “blah” than usual — less crazy-making, AND less stimulating. It’s a double-edged sword, how that goes… putting things off makes it all much more exciting, but it puts too much stress on me and my spouse. And doing things ahead of time makes everything much more even-keeled and level-headed… which is not stimulating at all for me.

Now I am looking at another weekend of steady-as-she-goes activity, which is well-planned and systematic. And it bores the crap out of me. I need to find a way to really pick myself up, without stooping to needless drama. I need a better solution.

If I don’t find one, I end up feeling down and depressed.

Options:

  • Vigorous exercise on a regular basis – preferably first thing in the morning
  • Finding new interests and pursuing them
  • Kick-starting my sitting practice again
  • Finding a new sport to play — preferably low-impact, low-velocity, so I don’t get hurt
  • Reading (which I can do now)

I basically need to keep my energy up, without resorting to drama to do it. I need to stay alert, and I need to do it in a healthy way. I know it can be done, I just need to keep focused on it, and follow through.

Oh, AND get plenty of rest.

Onward.

 

 

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

Talk about this - No email is required

