The first 24 hours

Interesting ideas about how to manage a TBI/concussion in the first 24 hours. It is very important to manage the injury properly, to improve your long-term chances of recovery. I wonder how my life would be, had I (or the people who cared for me) done any of this after all my TBIs…

Healing from a Brain Injury

What you do and take the first 24 hours after getting a concussion/tbi (traumatic brain injury) matters immensely for the seriousness of the injury, the recovery time, and in extreme cases, mortality rate. What makes brain injuries so serious is that the brain is the control center of every system in your brain, so while many people might be familiar with speech/cognitive issues in people with brain injuries, the majority of sufferers also have metabolic and hormonal issues and disturbances as well. Levels of hormones and certain neurotransmitters often drop dramatically after a concussion, sending the brain and body into a spinning cycle of imbalance.

What can be two of the most harmful things after incurring a concussion/tbi are the swelling and inflammation that occurs in the brain and the effect that it has on these other systems (hormonal, metabolic, etc).

By taking certain hormones/supplements in the first 24 hours, you…

View original post 667 more words

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

2 thoughts on “The first 24 hours”

  1. I really like seeing, hearing, reading, therefore finding out, how many deal with their injuries. Mine was rated as severe, and it was an obvious TBI. Meant that it was handled by the ER and the Neuro ICU people. Had no ability to do anything, or awareness that anything had happened to me. Anyway, thanks for all of your posts.

    Like

  2. Thanks for writing. You’re very welcome. I’ve always wondered how things might have turned out, had I been seen by doctors after my TBIs. But that didn’t happen, so I’ll never know. Oh, well. Life goes on.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

