Done with all the positive thinking stuff – for now

Yeah, I’ve been reading a lot of positive thinking stuff, motivational books, and what-not, and it’s really irritating me.

It all seems to boil down to — do what you love and love what you do, stay steady and consistent, and value yourself appropriately. Respect yourself and those around you, and keep your eyes on the prize.

It’s all pretty basic, really. And it’s all really easy to forget. Especially if you get worn out easily and your attention is so focused on the present moment, that all those lofty hopes and dreams just go by the wayside.

When you’ve got additional issues, you have to have other tricks up your sleeve. And life tends to teach you what works and what doesn’t.

The thing I’m finding is that positive thinking and motivational materials from others don’t always do the trick for me. I mean, they do for a little while, when they’re still fresh and new. Then the “voice” of the writer starts to sound familiar… and they start sounding like everyone else.

And then I start to feel like they’re selling me something. Sometimes they really are. They’ve said enough good things to draw me in, and then they hit me with the sales pitch.

Ugh.

Well, anyway, that’s their thing and if it works for them, great. Providing motivation and positive thinking is a better way to earn a living than selling land-to-air missiles to people hell-bent on destroying others.

I just get a little tired of it, after a while.

A good long rest, this weekend is in order.

Clearly.

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

Talk about this - No email is required

