AP: Patriots’ Edelman Cleared To Play After Hit Appeared To Leave Him Groggy

I have mixed feelings about this

CBS New York

PHOENIX (CBSNewYork/AP) — Julian Edelman passed a concussion test after a big hit in the Super Bowl appeared to leave him groggy, allowing him to continue and catch the winning touchdown a few minutes later, a person with knowledge of the situation told The Associated Press on Monday.

The Patriots top wide receiver was leveled by Seahawks safety Kam Chancellor after a 21-yard completion with just under 11 minutes left in New England’s 28-24 win over Seattle on Sunday night.

After that series, Edelman was checked on the New England sideline by medical staff and an independent neurologist and cleared to return, said the person who spoke on condition of anonymity because he was not authorized to discuss the matter.

Patriots coach Bill Belichick said Monday he doesn’t handle medical issues.

“I’m a coach and I had a deal with our trainers and doctors,” he told reporters during a…

View original post 465 more words

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

2 thoughts on “AP: Patriots’ Edelman Cleared To Play After Hit Appeared To Leave Him Groggy”

  1. Man, oh, man. I have such a curiosity to see the sideline written assessment and how it compares to the preseason one. And that he missed the last two games of regular season due to a concussion…could be a second impact syndrome….I have no mixed feelings about this one. I am sad and dismayed because the risk was too high for one individual to make this kind of potentially lifelong sacrifice for the team, even a Superbowl team.

    Like

  2. Pro football is such a tricky thing. I think there’s a general sense of “going for broke” at all times, because you never know when you may be catastrophically injured — either to your knee or head or other body part. It’s a violent game, and you can be seriously injured at any time, so why not go for the glory while you can?

    It’s really unfortunate and tragic. And I think it speaks to the generally impaired cognition of people who have been in the game for a long time. By the time you’re well into a pro football career, I think the damage may have already been done.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

