Ironically, the most qualified people got cut

Here’s a weird thing that’s oddly validating to me.

In the recent layoffs, the people who got cut are the most qualified folks in the bunch. One has a Ph.D. and the other has a long string of letters after their name, from all the different certifications they’ve gotten over the years.

Another person got let go, too, but they just don’t add that much to the mix.

But I’m still here.And I’m told I’m “safe”. I’m not sure that’s ever true, but I’ll take it, for the time being.

The thing about this whole round of layoffs is that it just goes to show how important it is to make your best effort, to do your best to add to the team, and to really work well with people, regardless of their “level”. I believe I’m the strongest “utility player” in the bunch, with a lot of varied skills and interests, and a willingness to do what needs to be done.

At least one of the folks who got cut, has a superiority complex and loves to lecture people about, well, everything. Not much of a team player, that one. They get a bit tiresome.

The other one is nice enough, however they don’t really stand out as someone who goes out of their way to produce results. They’re nice, but they seem to think their education is going to pave their way.

Anyway, it could also be because I’m a bargain, and I’m not paid as much as the others, so I’m easier to keep around. But I also know that I’m on good terms with everyone who wants to be on good terms with me, and people really enjoy working with me.

I’m fun.

Maybe that’s why they keep me around… 😉

Anyway, who can say? It’s the weekend. Time to focus on my own work.

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

4 thoughts on “Ironically, the most qualified people got cut”

  1. BB Read this post earlier and wrote long comment because it was one of the few posts that you make that bothered me somehow. The only other was the one you wrote about your dilemma of having to take a med to help control your temper (back then, hopefully that issue is settled) That bothered me because you obviously have high regard for others’ well-being in promoting helmets, giving up certain risky activity, but then I read about you bravely admitting that you were feeling you could fly off the handle (at the time, long time ago) and you somehow seemed less responsible to me at least, by thinking of not taking a med to prevent a possible temper thing. i wrote you telling you that you had a responsibility (at that time) to guarantee those you came in contact would not be subject to a tbi lashing out. You have been a great responder to my posts but left that alone. This post about making the cut bothered me because you have written so well on how our deficits can be taken wrongly or simply dismissed because they don’t fit a professionals prior schema. And well this post was disappointing in that you could label another as giving boring lectures or suffering from “Superiority Complex”. How could this person be more qualified with this ignorance, for no human is superior to another? Did it ever occur to you that the person maybe less socially adept or perhaps even suffering from an invisible injury of there own, neurological in nature, asberger’s for example. Or maybe a tbi of his own. I’m not suggesting every obnoxious, self-important, bore needs further evaluation, but one writing a blog on invisible illness, could be a little slower to categorizing your now cut coworker. Yes, it struck a chord with me, because after two day, seizure epileptus, my already autistic mind became laughable as I held monologues on dates and failed miserably socially for six to twelve months. in AA they had to cut me off that year. I still today come off as arrogant at times, and can’t listen much in any place with much stimuli and have to get around receptive aphasia and in doingvso appear that I’m not interested in another’s point of view. And it is obvious to me from reading so much of your stuff, that being “fun” is sometimes a choice that you work at. and I congratulate you. i have not really known ‘fun’ since 1991.at least not in any meaningful way because my memory does not attach these ideas even though I look to be enjoying a motorcycle and my friend tells me how much fun I had on it just four years ago. I just gave the bike away one day. But things again have improved a bit. People tell me that I am fun and I don’t think there just being nice. I see many people laughing around me and realize it has something to do with me. Yes, I am fun sometimes. I just need to remember to remember. And it is not aboutvself-confidence. I still have that. I’m just not confident that my deficit areas won’t lead to more misunderstanding. But I’m getting better slowly and times were I don’t have to remember to be fun are shrinking. Keep writing BB maybe a doctor might read it by accident and save a man from so much unnecessary suffering, until then you won’t see me near a doctor. This was unplanned bitterness. Your blog always makes me feel in authentic ways. Mainly grief, sadness, and a sneaky bitterness, but what is life without feeling? These tears prove I’m human. That, a job, and a lttle lovin, could make the last years on earth much better. Onward!

    Like

  2. Hey – thanks for writing this. You know, you’re right – that post was pretty obnoxious. I’ve been feeling down on myself, because I have not been able to get all the education I wanted, and I still have an inferiority complex over it. So, my criticisms of others are really about me, not them — and my seeming elation over being kept on while others are let go was a kind of backlash from being really worried about my lack of professional credentials working against me. And that all got away from me. One of the folks who got cut is not socially adept. They go on and on, and I believe they have sustained at least one TBI in their life (they have tinnitus, as well, which I understand doesn’t just happen to everyone). So, there’s no joy there. I actually really like both the folks who got cut, and I will miss them. I guess my heady relief at not having to go out and find another job got the best of my judgment.

    Wouldn’t be the first time – and thank you again for the reality check.

    Thanks, also, for writing about the meds. It’s forced me to think about them and be more clear. The reason I have not sought out meds, is that I have never had good experiences with them. I have a hard time explaining to doctors what my symptoms are. I get turned around and confused, and my head plays tricks on me. I have a lot of difficulty sorting out what’s what, so I can end up mis-speaking and making some things seem bigger than others… and then the wrong things get treated… and then I can be even more impaired than I was before, which makes it harder to explain what’s going on with me… and then things can really go wrong.

    I have tried to explain this to my docs, but nobody believes the disconnect between what goes on in my experience, what I manage to describe, and what they think I’m saying. So, I quit trying.

    So, when I talk about my issues and working through them rather than getting meds for them, it’s because I have to find a way to manage the issues on my own, in ways that work for me — and don’t make me dependent on a med. It’s not the physical/addictive dependency that worries me, it’s the psychological and behavioral. Because I could lose my insurance any time, and then I will really be out of luck. What happens if I get on a med that works, I get comfortable, and I don’t bother building up my skills to handle situations on my own… and then I lose my job and my insurance and access to the meds that help me? How much worse off will I be then?

    I need to build up my own “toolbox” to handle things — even if they are a little touch and go at the start.

    Reading this, I sound like I’m being defensive. That’s not my intention. I just want to be clear. I really do feel like I’m walking a fine line, and I cannot depend on outside structures to help me. Professional people don’t generally believe me about my issues, and they treat me like I’m mentally ill, half the time. So, I steer as clear of them as I can, and I work on my understanding and abilities to handle things as best I can on my own.

    Thank you again for writing what you did. I need the reality checks.

    Like

  3. You sound very real. And the med thing, I totally get and agree with. Psyche meds are crap shoot to begin with and with tbi can be russian rullette. The anti-siezure ones can be helpful atn
    low dose. I was trying to get at only the worry you had back then (a long time ago) that you could lash out and felt the med could help but didn’t want it. I’m a bit intense guy and not much human contact noe so i pick apart this. i had wanted to hear how you dealt with that possibility. If you know yourself and trigggers, no reason you can’t just stay aware of self and steer clear of situations that might have you blow.

    Like

  4. professional people don’t generally believe me about my issues. That is why I read your blog. And the price is more affordable. And I don’t leave feeling frustrated or dissed,

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

