Seeing Stars

This lady got a concussion the same way so many of us do — just in the course of daily life, with something that goes wrong … just ’cause

K Callard

IMG_0876 (3)

or

How I Got My Concussion

Two words: Pirate Ninjas.

Or is it Ninja Pirates? I’m not sure.

Either way, it went like this: A little girl was crying. Being a mom, of course I looked to see if I could help. But instead of a dropped ice cream or broken dolly, I found the wide-eyed youngster surrounded by a group of what could only be called Pirate Ninjas (or Ninja Pirates).

Brandishing a katana, one of the pirates/ninjas stepped toward the cowering girl, and the parrot on his shoulder squawked, “Where’s the map?”

The other pirates/ninjas closed in on her, whipping nunchaku around so fast, I don’t know how they didn’t knock their pirate hats off.

The girl trembled. “Map?” she asked tearfully, clutching an adorable mewling kitten to her chest.

That did it.  My maternal sense outweighed my common sense.

“Leave her alone!” I shouted, rushing forward.

The…

View original post 394 more words

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

Talk about this - No email is required

