Getting new doctors

The tremors in my right thumb and hand have been getting more noticeable, lately. The numbness and tingling on the left side of my face has continued,and it’s now just a part of my day-to-day.

And the neuro I was referred to, has not managed to get their insurance situation sorted out. I have been waiting for three months for them to get their act together, and still it hasn’t happened.

Do I feel comfortable turning over my neurological healthcare to someone who is resigned to let red tape block them from practicing?

No.

What will happen if I am in real need of specific types of care, and they cannot get their act together to provide the help I need? What then?

So, I need to find a neuro who can check me out for this tremor business.

And I also need to find a new PCP. The one I’ve been seeing has been good for getting me basically squared away, but they have been really lax with some things and have not followed up with as much engagement as I would like.

It’s not like I’m sick a lot, but when things do go wrong, I need to know I can count on someone to be all there — 100%. It’s my health and well-being. I don’t think it’s too much to ask.

But first things first. It’s pretty overwhelming for me to find a neuro, and the anxiety around getting a new PCP is pretty intense for me. So, one thing at a time.

When I do start talking to doctors, I’m going to take a piece of paper to them that tells them what my goals for care are,and how I need them to help me get there. I have no guarantee that they’re going to ask that, themselves, but that doesn’t need to keep me from discussing my intentions with them.

And keeping it simple and straightforward is the way to go. Even if it completely oversimplifies everything. First I need to get an “in” with them. Don’t overwhelm them before they have a chance to get to know me. When I deluge them with all my concerns, I come across sounding like a bit of a hypochondriac, because who the hell could walk around feeling like I do, being as functional as I am with so many issues?

Or maybe the issues are all in my head, and I’m malingering… looking for attention.  Whining and bitching and being a little cry-baby.

Whatever.

Actually, all I really want from a doctor at this point is some diagnostics to make sure the tremor and numbness in my face isn’t something bigger and badder than it seems to be. I just don’t like getting “caught out”. I want to get a head start, if at all possible, and get ahead of my issues before they get the best of me. I’ve lost too much time to “wait and see” approaches.

Time to get moving. Tomorrow I start calling around again.

Onward.

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

2 thoughts on “Getting new doctors”

  1. Yes, I can relate. You must always call advocate for yourself. These doctors really do not care. It is a business for most of them. The problem is when I am too damaged and sick from my own TBI how well can I advocate for myself? The system is poorly designed. I am there to advocate and work within the confines of the healthcare maze for my husband, father and children when they are ill. So my family is really not well-versed at the system when I need help. Just keep trying. I hope you find a compassionate healthcare professional to assist you.

    Like

  2. This is so true. I am the same way, not being able to advocate for myself when I am ill. I have been raked over the coals by neurologists who suspected me of insurance fraud and/or drug-seeking behaviors, when all I wanted was answers. When we are doubly responsible for others’ well-being, in addition to our own, then things get really “interesting”.

    It just sucks, and I have no idea how it can be changed, let alone fixed. Sigh.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

