Watch “Traumatic Brain Injuries (Closed head injury MOST DANGEROUS)” on YouTube

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

3 thoughts on “Watch “Traumatic Brain Injuries (Closed head injury MOST DANGEROUS)” on YouTube”

  1. The biology of brain injury needs to be better understood if we are going to effectively treat the consequences of the fight or flight response. The limbic system is where the fight or flight response is centered. I have found that long walks (over an hour) help me deal with the consequences of fight or flight and improve my memory and processing. The key seems to get the blood flowing and oxygen to my brain. Sometimes just sitting thinking about events and problems only makes things worse because once the fight or flight gets triggered it only prolongs my body’s ability to regulate the hormones that are part of the fight or flight response. My guess is that memories play a role in this too because they play a role in triggering fight or flight? When we set around hoping things will get better it only gets worse because our muscles remain tense and the chemicals that should be going to out brain are diverted to our muscles. The memories and problems continue just like a dog chasing its tail. Fight or flight remains in place because of this.

    Like

  2. I totally agree. There are huge consequences that come with it that either translate into cognitive / behavioral issues or are flat-out misinterpreted as psychological in nature. You’re absolutely correct about keeping things flowing. When we get into fight-flight, parts of our systems shut down, and we cannot live 100% effectively, let alone recover from our injuries. Managing that biological response is a major step towards healing and recovery. I find, myself, that I tend to indulge in fight-flight in order to shut off my brain. Crisis makes everything seem so much simpler and clearer. It has taken me years to break that bad habit.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

