Gearing up for my MRI tomorrow morning

At 7:30 tomorrow morning, I’m getting another MRI of my brain. Should be interesting. The last time I got one, I was having seizure-like episodes, and I was being evaluated for possible epilepsy.

Didn’t happen. That is, the tests produced nothing out of the ordinary, and in fact, other than a pineal cyst (which is very common), my brain is perfectly fine and normal and un-interesting (in a good way).

I’m trying to make a copy of my MRI files on CD. The first two tries didn’t work – the computer wasn’t recognizing the blank CD, or it wasn’t realizing it was even there. So, I’m trying it on my laptop, which is a long shot, because it’s been on the fritz.

Worst case, I give them either a thumb drive with all the files on it, or I give them the original CD I got, and I request another from the hospital.

Either way.

As long as I get a copy of the new one, too. I am pretty stoked about getting more images of my brain to look at. It’s a real thrill for me to actually be able to look at my brain. Awesome.

Anyway, the timing is actually pretty good for all this, because after a day of feeling increasingly better after my miserable migraine on Sunday, the headache is back. I had a bit of a venting meltdown at work — nothing terrible, I was in a “safe space” as they say, and my rant was actually very entertaining for those privy to my unbridled frankness. But as a result, I got a pretty mean headache. So, the migraine is back.

It will be interesting to see if anything shows up in imaging. Considering the way I’ve been feeling, if nothing shows up and my brain looks good, so much the better. I figure that means at my best, it looks great.

We’ll see.

Now to bed.

On-ward.

 

 

 

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

6 thoughts on “Gearing up for my MRI tomorrow morning”

  1. Hi BB,
    If you’re having seizure-like episodes but nothing shows that you’re actually having seizures, this went on for me as well post my TBI. Finally found a great neurologist who had me hooked up in a hospital room for 3 nights and half of the fourth day – I looked like a Medusa with wires springing out from all areas of the head.

    As it turns out, I’m diagnosed with being in a state of migraine 24/7 with fluorescent lighting trigger a different mode of migraine – one that appears in the form of a seizure. YES! There’s nothing to be done about this save from being aware that when it starts to occur to leave the surroundings and go home immediately; I do NOT wish to be driving when having a pseudo seizure.

    Though there’s nothing that can be done to remedy this seizure-like phenom [also triggered by certain kinds of stress] just KNOWING what’s going on is a huge comfort to me. Perhaps you can also be tested to see if you too are in a stage of migraine 24/7. They’re not all the major, bang your head in the wall to escape from pain kind; as well, after being in this migraine field for 27 years, I’ve basically adjusted to a certain level of pain all the time [as have perhaps you]. Might be a good idea to see though what triggers these seizure-like episodes, and if indeed fluorescent lights area trigger [dang, they’re everywhere] invest in a pair of polar sunglasses [which will give you more time of exposure to the lights prior to seizure attack] and use only LED lights in your home.

    Blessings and continued healing!

    Like

  2. Thank you for the info. I was seeing an epileptologist back in 2009 about pseudoseizures, and they wanted to do the 3-day-4-night observation of me, too. The only problem was, I had “a record” of presenting like a bit of a nut-case with the prior 2 neuros I had seen, and everybody was pretty well convinced I had emotional rather than neurological issues. And I didn’t want to get labeled and have an extended record in the system as being a psychiatric case, rather than a neurological one. So I opted not to do the observation. It took me a number of years to get on solid footing, and all that while, I would have been easily mistaken for a psych case.

    So, the short reply is, I avoided the initial observation, but who knows if that’s not what’s happening with me – the constant migraine.

    I have to say, I actually felt better when I was not paying any attention to the headaches, except in the most extreme cases, and I wasn’t trying to fix this.

    Oh, well. Just one more aspect to this story.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

