Last neuro visit today

Probably the last one for quite some time. I’ll probably give it another seven years, till I go back. Check on that pineal cyst. Make sure I haven’t had any strokes, and that my brain is still viable.

Headaches…. whatever. I don’t need a doctor to help me manage them, aside from the occasional medication that might come in handy. They’re not so awful that I can’t function. And frankly I’d rather deal with a headache than side-effects.

Or more doctors.

This whole “TBI thing” can be an unbelievable pain in the ass. Nobody — and I mean nobody — seems to get it. It’s just bizarre. TBI happens to so, so many people, yet everybody seems locked away in their own ideas about how things are… or should be.

Even my neuropsych is borderline clueless at times. At the start, they were really helpful and they help did get me down the road. It’s become increasingly difficult to deal with them, however, and actually as I get better, and things still aren’t completely resolving with me, it becomes all the more frustrating to deal with them. They seem to have made up their mind about me, at some point along the way, and now that’s just how and who I am to them.

Well, they’re going away for a month in August, so I’ll get a break from them, then.

I’m feeling like I need a break from everything. My spouse, my job… everything.

I’m sure it will pass, I’m just not in that great of a space today.

I’m sure it will change. It always does.

Onward

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

4 thoughts on “Last neuro visit today”

  1. Dear Broken Brilliant – Thank you for sharing your thoughts about brain concussions at BrokenBrilliant – wordpress. Appreciate it. – There are two fictional movies which attempt to describe brain concussions/temporary relief from brain concussion symptoms (my view): 50 First Dates (2004) and Limitless (2011). The movies may be helpful to some in understanding small aspects of working memory glitches and how the right medicine can, for a few (not all), temporarily reduce some symptoms. X-ref: amnesia, fictional NZT-48; x-ref: Inattentive ADHD, absence epilepsy, complex partial, etc.: Tirend, NoDoz; also, Bonine; Dilantin. X-ref: Walter C. Alvarez, Jack Dreyfus, Anita Uhl Brothers. – Charles Thomas Wild; x-ref: Neurology. Thank you. Have a blessed day.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

