SPEAK OUT! . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Guest Blogger: Jennifer Stokley Transitioning and Brain Injury

Surviving Traumatic Brain Injury

Transitioning Can Work in Odd and Wonderful Ways

 by

Jennifer Stokley

presented

by
Donna O’Donnell Figurski

Girl Blogger cartoon_picture_of_girl_writingWhen I moved into my new home back in September, I was a stranger – scared and so alone. I had neighbors on either side, but they were strangers. Strangers terrify me.

Behind me was a family with three young children and a big floppy dog. I am not sure how it happened. (I forget these things – “TBI Memory” – LOL.) Maybe it was the doggie that made me go out and meet them, but who cares? I went. And, it totally changed my world forever!

Next thing I knew, I was playing with their dog almost every day and sitting on their bench out front to see the kids go off to school every morning so I could say hello and “Have a great day!” I went out again every day to…

View original post 657 more words

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

1 thought on “SPEAK OUT! . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Guest Blogger: Jennifer Stokley Transitioning and Brain Injury”

  1. Dear Broken Brain – Brilliant Mind,
    So fun to see my post about Jennifer Stokley on your blog. Jennifer has a fascinating outlook on life.

    Thanks so much for sharing and for all your work in the brain injury community.

    Donna O’Donnell Figurski
    survivingtraumaticbraininjury.com
    donnaodonnellfigurski.com

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

