Here’s how I did on my own first study-memorize-draw test

Here’s the graphic I created before I wrote my last blog post:

3-circle-2-plank-double-slash-l-r-boxesAnd here’s what I drew once I was done with my post (the background is the other side of the scrap paper – it’s not part of the picture):

wpid-wp-1436529380953.jpg

Some of the details I missed:

  • The bar across the top does not go the full length. But I drew it full length. For some reason, I was 100% convinced that the bar went the whole way across the boxes. In fact, I felt indignant that I would question myself, and I pushed forward anyway.
  • The lines are not a straight as they could be. I was rushed. I guess I was nervous. I was trying to quickly draw while I was still thinking of things, rather than having a strategy that helped me keep things in mind.
  • The items are not 100% properly proportioned. The circles should be larger, the bar should be higher and shorter, the boxes should be bigger. It’s close, but it’s not as close as I’d like it to be.

What does this tell me about my weaknesses? A lot, actually. Just in those few details, I can see how my approach to problems needs some improvement. I need to work on the following:

  • Really paying attention to details and reconsidering things, without getting nervous and indignant. I tend to forget how anxious I become, and it narrows my cognitive range.
  • Not being so reactive and rushed. I felt very anxious when I was drawing it. I felt like the pressure was on, because after all, I had drawn the image, myself, so why wouldn’t I remember how it’s designed? As it turns out, I forgot details in that, too.
  • Being more systematic in my approach, rather than flying willy-nilly into a challenge. I needed to stop and really think things through, but I bypassed that step.

Basically, I need to develop a better system for studying problems, thinking about them from different angles, and then coming up with solutions. I need to not jump to conclusions — like thinking that because I created something at the start, I would be able to draw it at the end. Also, I have to remember that I “drew” the first image on a computer, so my body didn’t remember the steps needed to recreate the image.

I think if I involve some sort of physical gestures in my memorization process, I’ll get better. I’ll have to think about that.

Anyway, that was the first test I created for myself.

More to come.

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

2 thoughts on “Here’s how I did on my own first study-memorize-draw test”

Talk about this - No email is required

