World Cup Again Brings Up Concussion Debate

The call to send both players back in was bogus.

Concussion Discussion

by Tony Doran, Psy.D.
HeadFirst Concussion Care Program Director

It’s no secret in my family that I’m a die hard sports fanatic. I count the U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team’s win over China in 1999 as one of the greatest sporting events in our country’s sporting history – rivaled only by the win of the U.S. Hockey team over the Russians at the 1980 Olympics. Naturally, I was glued to the TV over the past few weeks while our U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team again clinched the World Cup championship last week.

Backtracking to the team’s semifinal game against Germany, analysis stated the U.S. did a great job on offense and defense, although the Germans came out hard with a flurry of shots and dominated the first 20 minutes of the action. Then, iIn the 28th minute, Germany’s Alexandra Popp went to head a ball on a free kick and USWNT’s Morgan Brian was having…

View original post 469 more words

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

4 thoughts on “World Cup Again Brings Up Concussion Debate”

  1. BB! Just two days ago I was looking at yearbook pics from 80′ and they I was going for a head ball and getting an arm bone knocking on my head as I was being pushed from behind. Memories came of how we had this heavy circular iron-like goal frames and how I hit my head on them at least once to see lights. 15+ years of year round leagues into colligate level. And the 1000’s of ski runs down the infamous Chute of Mad River Glen in Vermont hearing the people in the single chair lift above me yelling “go for it” and the times I didn’t hold the line and ended up tree bound. An autistic like nature that pitted me against bullies and put me in serious street fights. Two car accidents with head injuries. And seizures and 24-72 hour coma. How did I not put this all together to these unexplainable personality changes? But you look good and speak a second language fluently and test well? Holy crap I’m thinking that I must be evil or something and people are treating me like that. Great detailed memory at times, but no contextual memory. And I’m missing that people were mocking me. I replay the tapes in my mind and see clearly, I was being mocked for almost 20 years. I never knew it. Your work is very important. I’ve tried to get going on a blog of my own, but my mind is lacking the planning, organization and execution. It sucks. I mean if one can identify then why can’t he move ahead. My brain is very tired. Keep on writing! Luka

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for writing Luka. Just so you know, it took me quite some time to build up the abilities I have now with my blogging. In 2008, for example, I wrote 99 posts for the entire year. Less than 2 a week, and that was pushing it for me.

    So, don’t lose heart. Just write what you wish, and you will find your voice.

    All those impacts – I know… I sure know about that. I try to explain to my neuropsych how many times I’ve been hit in the head, and they just don’t believe it. They did not have an active childhood like I did, playing sports year round, and running into trees. I could not ski, because my coordination was so bad. Maybe TBI saved me from myself, in that respect. But all the ballgames and soccer and outdoor accidents. It was not uncommon for me to fall and hit my head. And so it goes.

    I too have a hard time figuring out if folks are mocking me or just talking. It’s one of the reasons I steer clear of most people in real life. They can be so thoughtless and cruel — and for what? I’m much happier, staying away from them.

    Plus, they encourage you to do things that are just not wise. Safer to stay away, too.

    Rest that brain – I have been working overtime for the past several days, trying to get my old job in order to leave, and it is taxing me to the point of screwing up my balance and bringing on those migraines, where the left side of my body feels like it’s carved from a block of lava.

    Rest well and be well. I’m going to try to do the same, this weekend.

    Like

  3. I liked a thought that I once read. “who better to lead you out of the desert than one who has been there”. Of course in the end, we must take the steps ourselves, but it has been my experience that the vast majority of people who learned about TBI from a book, come up short. we must learn from each other. I’m sure that you recognize that without your readership that your blog would have less a positive impact- not because you need approval, but because you feel less alone on this journey from MTBI. And so it goes with each one of us who reads a blog like this, we just feel less abandoned and find encouragement. L P

    Liked by 1 person

Talk about this - No email is required

