“League of Denial” (Part 1)

Leading up to another story I am publishing in a little bit about “the new science of concussion recovery”. Give this a read — especially with reference to Micky Collins, who is featured in the OutsideOnline story coming later. This is a great read, for starters.

The Concussion Blog

Coming to a bookstore and TV near you tomorrow is “League of Denial” a book and documentary about one of the dirty little secrets the NFL has been avoiding for some time.  Fortunately, I have been provided with advance copies of both; the Frontline film was easy to digest, as for reading a book, well we can just say I am trying to read as fast as possible.

In all honesty, if you have followed any part of this issue nothing revealed in either medium (thus far in the book) is seen as “BREAKING NEWS” rather an illustration of what has been happening with the research arm and policy makers of the National Football League, with regards to concussions.

“League of Denial” the Book:

In what I have been able to read thus far both Steve Fainaru and Mark Fainaru-Wada have done a good job of telling the hidden…

View original post 1,065 more words

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

5 thoughts on ““League of Denial” (Part 1)”

  1. Just read yesterday that the leading rusher for the Iowa football team in each of the years from 2000 to 2006 have all died. These are guys who were in 20’s or early 30’s. Accidents? All of them? I didn’t read all the causes given for each guy, but in at least half if not all, my uneducated and uninformed guess is that M-Tbi played a role. And the “jokes” about players being thugs seem half-ass to me. Many people in prisons are TBI people. No i’m not making excuses. Each case is different and wrong behavior is wrong. But it isn’t always just drug/nfl= prison. Sometimes its prison/tbi = nfl or its nfl/tbi = prison. or drugs/tbi/nfl = prison or any combination of things. L.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow – that’s pretty amazing. And very sad. The San Diego Chargers also had a terrible record for their former players not surviving long. Junior Seau was just one of them. I personally believe that growing up playing tackle football can set you up for other difficulties later in life. Science appears to support that. And I also think a lot of the poor decision making by the NFL is TBI-related — in the ranks of the decision-makers… former players involved.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

