Definitely need to write things down

Need to get my post-it notes going, again. My mind has been like a seive. I’m sure it’s me leaving this job, but I have either missed appointments or been 10-15 minutes late… and even when I’m there, I’m not all there.

In fairness, my head is chock full of all the things I still need to do.

But if I have tools to use, I should just use them, and be done with it.

Always an adventure.

Onwards

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

8 thoughts on “Definitely need to write things down”

  1. Unsure about others, but it is difficult to multi-task without writing things down. Was not always this way, but acceptance is the key gateway tool for me, if I wish to achieve additional goals I have established for myself.

    Like

  2. “Bullet notebooks” work better for me than sticky notes. I write things down and lose them on post-its. My phone calendar is FULL of reminders and has a rolling event on the ones that are to dos or repeating daily so it shows up the next day or I might forget to go back and look at incomplete items.

    Like

  3. Oh, I know… just this morning, I left a post-it note in one room, when I needed to remember it in another room. Out of sight, out of mind. I would have forgotten completely, if my spouse hadn’t asked, “You took care of that ____, right?”

    Like

  4. BB – do you use any assistive technology? IF not what do you imagine would help you? what would you say is your biggest challenge in the workplace?

    Like

  5. I used to use a lot more assistive technology than I do today. I used tracking systems for my daily activities, because I could not seem to keep it together. I had paper checklists that I used, as well as electronic trackers. The problem I had with electronic trackers from others (like apps for my smartphone), is that they did not track what I wanted to track. So I created my own tracker (I used to be a software developer, and I used to know how to do it). I used the tracker I wrote for a number of years, but I was collecting way too much information to be useful, and it turned into a job in itself.

    So, I stopped. And I started using low-tech helpers, like a little notebook with all my to-do lists, post-it notes placed strategically — mostly on the door I go in and out of, each day, where I won’t miss them — and reminders in my online calendar. I use technology so much at work, that in my own personal life I need something different — something I don’t have to turn on or boot up, or listen to it making sounds.

    Like

  6. At work, I use Outlook extensively. I color-code my main tasks, and I block off time to work on things, and my days usually look like this: http://www.pbsol.co.za/portals/0/Images/MicrosoftExchange/outlook-calendar.jpg

    I block off time for specific tasks and mark it “tentative” in my calendar, so if someone needs to invite me to a meeting, I don’t appear to be booked for that hour. I make sure I don’t block all-day tasks, because that makes it harder for me to A) actually complete them, and B) tell what is coming up. I have been late for meetings because I did not see them in the midst of everything else I had going on.

    One main thing I do with Outlook is TURN OFF the little flashing alert when a new message comes in. That totally messes with my concentration. I just leave the little status bar envelope alert in place.

    Sometimes when I want to concentrate 100% on a task, I will shut down Outlook for an hour or so. People can call me if they are having an emergency. Instant messaging like Skype can be intrusive, but if I need to focus on things, I change my display setting to “Do Not Disturb”.

    My work tech approaches are mostly about defending my time from intrusions. And keeping my focus. And of course I am usually wearing noise-blocking headphones (whether or not I am listening to music). It’s hard to concentrate, otherwise.

    I try to keep things very simple and learn to use the tools I have to do things for me, rather than finding new ones that will do those things. I find it very disruptive to have to download and update apps — I have to login to that danged online store too often, and I can never seem to remember my password, so it is a huge time suck. I use the mobile sites instead. Or I do without.

    Simple is best for me.

    Hope that helps.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

