Well, hello…

followersYou know, I really do try to keep up with everyone who follows this blog. I’ve got 678 followers right now. That’s not astronomical, and compared to some who have thousands of followers, it’s a pittance, but it’s something. And I appreciate each person who follows me. I truly do.

So, thank you.

I periodically check my list of followers to make sure I have followed everyone who has followed me. I like to keep in touch with what others are writing and thinking about. I read people’s blogs while I’m riding the exercise bike in the mornings — it’s a good way to wake up to the day.

Plus, it’s just good practice to return the favor of someone following you… provided, of course, they’re not dangerous and/or promoting ideas and behavior that cause indiscriminate hate, harm, pain, and suffering to people who are simply different from them.

Granted, 600+ blogs is a lot to follow, but it really gives me a nice range of writing and thinking to choose from. So, if you’re one of the bloggers who follows me/is followed by me, thank you for widening my world.

Anyway, I thought I was keeping up with all my follows ‘n’ such.

But looking back at my WordPress list… as it turns out, probably about 10% of my followers are not marked as being followed by me. And a lot of them are from years ago… How did they fall through the cracks?

Really strange.

I was so sure I was keeping up. I clicked the buttons. I paged through the listings. But still, there were a lot of folks I had not followed. How did that happen?

Ha – story of my life. I have a tendency to be sooooo sure that I have everything covered, only to discover surprise!! that I really don’t. Just another reminder that I need to check my results more than once, to make sure I’ve done/said/supposed the right thing. That certainty that I feel about being right… well, it often steers me wrong. So, I have to stay honest and humble about these things and do the extra legwork to follow up.

Argh!
Argh!

Which really frustrates me, to tell the truth. I mean well, and I want to do well, but my brain seems to conspire against me. And I have to back-track to figure things out… which is also frustrating because my memory sometimes fails me, and I’m working with less information than I would like.

It’s a little like carrying water in a woven basket. So often I get to my destination without all my ducks in a row, so I have to go back to the well and fill up again, but I still keep losing the pieces of the puzzle.

Ah, well. A day in the life.

The main thing is to keep focused on what is most important — how my life is going, how I’m feeling about it, how much energy I have for the good things.

Good things like the birds at my birdfeeder, who are so, so happy that I filled it up with fresh seed. I have been remiss for the past several months. I even bought a bag of seed, and it sat in my kitchen for 2 weeks, before I got around to filling the feeder. Now it’s full. At least, it was early this morning. The birds have been so busy at it, I probably need to top it off later today.

And get more seed, the next time I go shopping.

Poor birds. I got so caught up in my own drama, my own concerns about work and life and my health, that I lost sight of the things that put a positive spin on things — helping those in need… like the hungry birds in my back yard.

When we get out of ourselves and put aside our preoccupation with the pain and frustration of our limitations, we begin to truly live. We all have our limitations, we all have our wounds and our hurts. It’s what we do with them and the knowledge they grant us, that makes it all worth it.

And with that, I wish you a good day.

I look forward to reading even more of the blogs I’m now connected with.

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

8 thoughts on “Well, hello…”

  1. I have valued your entries and a shared path. Worried a bit about you when you had a bad day but saw how you recouped too. My post concussive life was certainly not part of my life plan. My redefinition and working at being well has to be my priority. Everything has changed. Still hard to accept the changed me and my new vision from administrator, runner, stand up paddle boarder, kayaker to a woman needing a cane as my balance has been signifigantly effected. At the core I still feel purposeful and more then willing to work hard. Can’t emphasize enough the need for mindfulness and gratitude, just know when things are not going so well; I have to return to the basics.
    Thanks for your perspective. “Onward” with my leopard print cane in hand.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s been wonderful to find and read other bloggers who can relate to brain injuries – it’s been a life saver for me to be introduced to so many through this blog.

    Like

  3. That makes my day 🙂 I’m very happy you have found this helpful, and that it is widening your world. TBI can be a very lonely path to go down… connections are what keep us from imploding, some days. Have a good one.

    Like

  4. Connections do matter and gratitude strengthens them! This unique journey can be isolating, so very grateful for the Internet and others willing to share the truth of their experiences. It is not all rosy, but seeing others who have found post-traumatic GROWTH is inspiring and enlightening.

    Our update: it has been a month now that my daughter has been in vision therapy. I dont see her bumping into door frames anymore. She says she still does, but it is not with the frequency I had previously observed. I do notice when we walk there are certain hazards (like a low tree branch) that used to surprise her or (worse!) not even appear on her radar to try to avoid. But now she sees the concerning objects in advance and moves more gracefully to a new path to avoid hitting them or being obstructed or slowed by them. She is reading faster too. I am not sure about longer, but that might be possible too as it is just not something I always note that she is doing to gauge the time. But i thibk her speed may be faster than me when she is fresh and unfatigued. Also, the other day when I had the radio on in the car (usually I don’t when I drive with her, just use it when I am solo), instead of asking me to turn it off, she asked me to turn it up! She has had such sensory problems and this was the most surprising recent observation as the auditory input can really wipe her out and then cause her to have more visual difficulties and stumbling or bumping into things. Anyways, I attribute these improvements to the passage of more time and also the success of the vision therapy, but primarily the latter. It is like physical therapy for the brain in the perceptual area. It can be boring and it can be frustrating, and absolutely it is expensive, but it has been one tool in our journey that has been making a difference and I feel more secure that she is able to be more watchful of her own safety as a result.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk about this - No email is required

