Muscle doesn’t build itself

Reposting this from November 1, 2009

Funny thing about the pain… either I’ve gotten better, or I’ve just gotten used to it. Or both. Reading this post from November 1, 2009, I can’t actually remember how I was feeling. That’s one of the benefits of a terrible memory, I suppose — I don’t have to carry around the torture from yesteryear in the back of my head.

A lot of these symptoms have calmed down — I think very much because I’ve really cut back on my stress. I’ve learned how to manage it, and I’ve learned how to sleep better.

Several things were contributing to my state at the time I wrote this post:

1. I was on high alert over everything – my sensory issues were off the charts, and I was operating on a constant stream of adrenaline. That alone will spike my pain.

2. I was not sleeping well. After my fall in 2004, I could rarely sleep past 3 a.m. for a number of years, and that sleep deprivation made a lasting impression on me.

3. I was actually overtraining, pushing my body daily with workouts that weren’t super-human, but still taxing. I rarely took days off — I worked out each morning (as I recall) for a number of years, and I pushed through pain that was a sign that I needed to rest. Really rest.

4. I did not rest, period. As I said, I was on high alert ALL THE TIME, and I never actually gave myself time to catch up with myself — not with work, not with workouts, not with my relationship (which was on the rocks at the time I wrote this, tho’ I was pretty much oblivious to the fact).

What strikes me the most, is how much things have changed for me. Infinitely better.

Much.

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

I was talking to my therapist the other week, trying to describe to them the pain that I’m in on a regular basis. They were (understandably) concerned, and I found it difficult to relate the information objectively without alarming them.

I hate when I alarm people, simply by being and living the way I do. I’m not trying to shock them, but when folks become acquainted with my interior life, yes, it can be shocking.

Anyway, they recommended plenty of exercise (which I’m doing), and they suggested physical therapy might be useful.

Now, I can’t imagine that anyone is going to offer me physical therapy that can help my situation. What exercises could I possibly do, to address the myofascial all-over pain that wreaks havoc with my sanity? What specific routines could anyone recommend to ease the aching scream in my joints and the connecting points in my lower back…

View original post 1,020 more words

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

Talk about this - No email is required

