Stay steady, stay cool

I got a massage today, to work out all the pain and suffering of the past weeks. My head is in a good place, but my back and shoulders are still aching.

Got a massage. Then came home and took a nap. Had some lunch.

All is better.

There is a military training ground near my home, and the bombs have been going off all morning. Machine gun fire. ExPLOSions. It feels like war has truly come to this place.

When the Iraq/Afghanistan conflict was picking up, years ago, there were lots of explosions and gunfire happening. Now it’s happening again.

Hard to nap, when the bombs are going off.

But I do what I can. It’s a metaphor for pretty much everything in my life, right now.

Just keeping a cool head. Despite the headaches that are back. Definitely need to get back on the exercise bike. And lift those weights. My blood pressure is staying steady, but my heart rate is up.

When my heart rate is up, the headaches start. I guess my pulse has been going extra-strong for some time, now.

Well, it’s time to do my Saturday chores. Got some driving ahead of me. It’s all good. It will be good to get out.

Onward.

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

2 thoughts on “Stay steady, stay cool”

  1. Finding the time for exercise is so important to get good blood flow to the brain and I hope you find the time for this. Napping is good too – such a busy season on top of all the work uncertainties you are dealing with. Glad to see you are arriving for balance through it all!

    Like

  2. Thanks – at least I’m able to get some exercise in during my days at work – three steep flights of stairs take me up to my office, so I do a couple of extra trips each day. It seems to help. But there’s nothing like regular exercise. Speaking of which, now that I’m done with my errands, I have some time to ride before supper.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

