Before ‘Concussion’ Omalu was still Omalu

A great interview with Dr. Bennett Omalu, in advance of the movie “Concussion”, starring Will Smith as Dr. Omalu. I’m looking forward to the movie… though I’ll probably have to wait for it to be on cable. Movie theaters don’t appeal to me at all, anymore.

The Concussion Blog

In two weeks time people will be going to the movies to see the screen adaptation of a forensic pathologist that unintentionally made the giant business of the N.F.L. weak in the knees. In the movie ‘Concussion‘ mega-actor Will Smith becomes a little known West African doctor, Bennet Omalu.

To many Dr. Omlau has been a recent discovery due mainly to this movie but also the discussion surrounding it, including Dr. Omalu’s op-ed piece in the New York Times. To a small circle of people his work and voice has been around much longer.

Early in 2011 Matt Chaney – a tireless cataloger of football catastrophic injuries and outspoken author/journalist – had an interview with Dr. Omalu. In this interview you can see that Dr. Omalu is still the same concerned medical practitioner as he is now.

With permission from Matt, I am publishing the transcript of his…

View original post 4,657 more words

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

2 thoughts on “Before ‘Concussion’ Omalu was still Omalu”

  1. Wow!
    This really hit home for me.
    I have been living this kind of experience since 1985, when I first got involved with the business of brain injury. It’s no wonder why the industry doesn’t talk about brain injury recovery. The industry is self serving and only cares about the obscene amounts of money it requires to sell its snake oil. They don’t want word to get out that people with brain injuries can recover. It is no wonder that when I have always spoken about how I am getting better to brain injury professionals, educators and advocacy organizations my information always fell on deaf ears. They say we “plateau” and don’t get any better after the first two years when in reality we get better and our quality of life does improve every year. It is a slow process filled with adversity and little hope from the powers that be. The NFL and the brain injury industry is the same and all they care about is money.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree. It strikes me as a relic of the past, where money was made off misfortune and pain management. Nowadays, you’re far more likely to appeal to paying customers by offering hope and positivity, but thecscientific community is so stuck in their devotion to certain types of results – and collecting data on only the biases they want to confirm, that the industry has stayed stuck. Insurance companies also don’t help, but ultimately it’s the providers who are the real problem. I’m sure there are many ‘leaders’ who are responsible, but Muriel Lezak in particular comes to mjnd with her ‘you never fully recover from brain injury’ message. It truly is maddening.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

