Maybe I have a few months, maybe a year, maybe longer

france_roadSo, all the talk is heating up at work about the changes coming down the pike with the merger. A lot of people are pretty upset, because they see the writing on the wall — writing which may or may not be there, actually.

People will do just about anything to predict the future. It’s one of the most human things you can do.

And that’s precisely what gets us in trouble — concocting a future that never actually had a chance to exist, but we somehow think must absolutely come to be.

Anyway, the way I see it, I have a handful of different prospects:

  1. I get laid off in the next few months, to free up $$$ they need elsewhere.
  2. I am kept on, and I spend the next 12-18 months doing my job, seeing how things go. Then, I look for another job in another year or so. Supposedly, all our salary and benefits stuff is supposed to stay in place throughout 2016, but we’ll see about that. If that is the case, there’s no reason for me to leave, because the benefits are good, and the salary is decent.
  3. I stay on indefinitely and take things as they come, settling into the new organization and making my way as best I can.

Frankly, any of the above could happen, and it would be fine. I just can’t live my life with things hanging over my head. I have other interests, other things to keep me occupied and engaged. Whatever the people in charge will do, they’ll do. Whatever I choose to do, I’ll do.

If the two are mutually beneficial, then great. But I’m not making this into the be-all-to-end-all of my life. The whole “career” thing is old, anyway. I just need a paycheck, so I can fund the life I want, and I can live my life to the fullest.

La la.

It’s turning out to be an amazingly beautiful day, today.  We had some stormy weather, over the past few days that chilled me to the bone, but now I see blue sky out my window. I’m not sure how hot or cold it is outside, but I’ll find out when I go out.

I’ve been feeling pretty bad, for the last three days, but I feel like I’m turning a corner. My sinuses are still stuffed up, but I’m not sneezing and hacking, and my throat isn’t burning anymore. I just have to make sure I wipe my nose frequently. And I’ve got tissues with lotion in them to keep me from looking like Charlie Chaplin with a red, raw moustache. I read for a while, as I was riding my exercise bike, and I got a lot of movement in, which is good. I’m stretching more, and it’s helping my hip, and I’m also doing more stairs at work, which gets the blood pumping and helps me forget I’m stuck in a veal pen all day at work. The stairwell is usually empty, and the echo of my footsteps as I walk up and down the three steep flights is a cadence that keeps me moving, even though I’m out of breath.

When I started there, I had to stop, halfway up the flights, to catch my breath. I refuse to take the elevator, unless I’m loaded down with boxes. There are steps right there, which ascend beside the elevator, and when I’m moving at a decent clip, I can actually beat the elevator to the third floor. It’s good exercise, and I can do it anytime.  Since I’m fighting off an infection, I can’t go swimming, so I might as well do the stairs — as well as ride the bike in the morning, and lift some light weights.

Today, I did without the weights. I’m still a little sore from yesterday, and my body still aches a bit. I can get back to it tomorrow.

So, this is my daily work — keeping my body and mind in good working order, to handle whatever comes down the pike. My goals is to both say and believe, “Whatever happens, it’s all good,” because I will make it that way.

Onward.

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

3 thoughts on “Maybe I have a few months, maybe a year, maybe longer”

  1. Please feel free to ignore this if you already know these facts. Unfortunately, most people don’t know them, and ignorance isn’t bliss.

    There have been several research studies over the last 2-3 years, the essence of which are:
    (1) You’re right about jobs. Everyone can expect to get laid off at least once. The age of spending an entire career with one company is over. Playing defense is pointless. What do you want to do in the next chapter of your life?
    (2) Unless you’re a top 2%er, according to a recent economic study, you can expect at least one year of income below poverty level. If you haven’t dealt with unemployment, you soon find out that $335 a week is a joke. It won’t cover a home mortgage, much less other expenses. And it only lasts 26 weeks. That’s the other joke: if you exhaust your unemployment benefits, there is no point in reporting being unemployed. However, if you don’t report, the Labor Department assumes you have found work. Hence the current 5% unemployment rate. That widely reported rate is meaningless.
    (3) As I’ve said in other posts, Americans give up 9 to 10 years of life expectancy over to illness. On average, that’s 15% of one’s life that limited by health issues. TBI is one cause, but most people have something and are totally unprepared.
    (4) The CDC estimated in 2012 that most Americans will encounter $225,000 in uninsured medical expenses in retirement. That’s a per person figure. The folks trying to rollback the Affordable Care Act want to make sure as many people can go bankrupt as possible, as long as the rich get theirs. Frankly, I’ve worked with a number of people (US-born) who have moved overseas with no plans to return. There’s a reason.

    [Two things to think about:
    (1) Healthcare: If you get laid off, you’re eligible for COBRA. However, you may want to check the ACA Marketplace, which might be less expensive. That’s especially true if you become eligible for a subsidy while looking for a job. You want to understand your options before you have to make decisions. When a layoff its, a lot of stuff comes at you fast. Speaking from experience.
    (2) Supplemental health insurance: BTW, you’re eligible for two Aflac policies (Accident and Hospital), both of which are guaranteed issue (no medical history), low cost (around $22/month), and would give you significant supplemental cash. You may want to look into that.]

    Like

  2. Hey, great info! I really appreciate it. I will absolutely look into the Aflac policies. I’ve been through job transitions before, and I’ve gone through the very low income thing before, so here’s hoping I met that quota 😉 But in all seriousness, this is very good information to have. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  3. Keeping a good attitude is half the game. Not getting caught up in all the drama (stress reduction) is the other half. Getting great info like what Vic offered helps too. Good Luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk about this - No email is required

