Yes, I do have problems with getting mired in details…

Back in 2009, I was really struggling with distraction. I was also stuck in a “swamp” of my life — all the details feeling critical all across the board, without priority or distinction.

I’m much better now. TBI recovery rocks.

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

From March, 2009 – I may have never actually published this…

I’ve been meaning to finish up my writing on “A Perilous Relief“, which is about how I use stress to relieve certain kinds of distress in my life, and how that works against me.

But then I got caught up in thinking about how TBI and PTSD intersect and feed each other. And then I got caught up in thinking about Tetris and how it might help relieve PTSD flashbacks. And then I got caught up in thinking about Natasha Richardson. And then I got caught up in thinking about my job situation. And then…

All of these are very interesting things to think about, and some of them (like job stuff) are quite valuable, if not essential. But in the process of researching the different pieces of these puzzles, I went down a bunch of rabbit…

View original post 882 more words

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

Talk about this - No email is required

