New theme – more mobile-friendly – oh, and back on Twitter

hardhatsI’ve decided to update this blog’s theme to a “responsive” design – one that will adjust to different screen widths and make it easier to read. Some things are better, other things (like the wrapping of the headine) are irritating. But that’s the tradeoff.

Brain Injury Awareness Month is still going on. We’ve got nearly three weeks left, and I’m actually really feeling the pull of doing something useful for the occasion. There is so much disinformation about concussion and TBI, due (at least in part) to the “gold rush” of concussion diagnosis and management tools and techniques and gear and software programs proliferating at a dizzying rate.

Who can keep up? At every turn, someone is selling hyping the latest thing that has some sort of independent study (or two or three) backing it up.

And that’s all very well and good. If they help, then great. But the big-ass gaping hole that still exists (here, let me drive my vintage Mack truck through it) is adequate support for folks who have been concussed/brain injured, who just want to get back to their lives. That’s a major issue. And it’s one that I hope to remedy at least in part here. Just knowing that you’re not the only one who’s going through all the sh*t associated with “mild” TBI / concussive brain injury… that can be a huge help. I know I’ve been helped tremendously by hearing the accounts of others — especially real-live people whom I’ve talked with.

TBI can be a lonely, lonely thing. So, I’m making this blog more accessible, and I’ve also turned on posting to Twitter again. I have a love-hate relationship with that medium, but it’s how a lot of people connect with others, so I’ll just turn on my “publicize” setting, and leave it at that.

It’s all part of it.

So, onward.

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

1 thought on “New theme – more mobile-friendly – oh, and back on Twitter”

Talk about this - No email is required

