#1 Thing I wish they’d told me after my concussion(s)

I wish they’d told me I had a brain injury! Maybe it was because I grew up in the “dark ages” before they realized how serious concussion can be. Maybe it was because they were too scared to talk about my brain being injured — and they thought it meant I’d be “retarded”. Whatever the reason, I got hit on the head a lot… but nobody ever mentioned that I’d had a brain injury.

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

1. You’ve had a brain injury.

There's a lot going on in "command central" There’s a lot going on in “command central”

A concussion is a brain injury. A mild TBI is a brain injury. You don’t need to get knocked out. You don’t need to have amnesia. If you get dazed for even a few seconds, your brain can be injured. It’s very simple and very complicated at the same time.

Our brain is “command central”of our bodies and and minds, and an injury to the brain can affect physical systems, as well as mental ones. Vision, balance, hearing, coordination, taste, touch, pain sensations, digestion, sleep/wake cycles… and more… can be screwed up by a brain injury.

So, it’s not just about what’s in your head – it’s about everything that’s connected to your brain… your whole body and whole experience as a living, breathing human being can get messed up after a concussion / brain injury.

View original post 291 more words

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

8 thoughts on “#1 Thing I wish they’d told me after my concussion(s)”

  1. I’m so glad you reblogged this, BB. I hope everyone will read each of the links – great brain-based info in all of them, each written in “plain English.” Again, good job!
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree – so important AND so well delivered.

    Thanks for permission to reblog. I rarely reblog per se, since the WP reblog function isn’t ADD/EFD friendly (how it handles graphics, inability to format and have control of “seeding” through where the article breaks, etc.). But, with your permission, I would love to copy the beginning of a few posts (following an intro) and manually send readers to you to finish. Are you cool with that?
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am currently finishing a series and filling a class that begins in September (if it makes its minimums!). As soon as the class begins, I’ll turn my attention to the ideas in your series of posts.

    You may have noticed already that I am a linking fool: very careful about attribution etc. anyway – but I’d *never* “ef over” a blog-buddy!! lol 🙂

    Good content deserves more play, IMHO! And I’m looking forward to seeing your new stuff on these issues.
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks – struggling with the admin details, but the class itself is ready to go and I think it will be great once it gets going.

    I do, however, have to have minimum enrollment or I can’t justify the time commitment. With “typical” ADD/EFD kludgy follow-through skills, that makes everything understandable but iffy! 🙂
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 1 person

Talk about this - No email is required

