#TBI Q and A for Today: Light sensitivity, vagus nerve, and hard work

brain-turn-on-buttonMore from the search stats – here’s what people are interested in:

  • sensitivity to light in office solutions – For the record, I really detest workplace lighting. It’s so obviously designed for efficiency and cost-savings, without a thought about people who are sensitive to the spectrum of light given off by the bulbs. There are different kinds of bulbs, I know, that are easier on the system, but it’s hit or miss. I once asked the facilities guys if they could simply unscrew the fluorescent lights above my cubicle, and they said if they did that, it would short out the whole row. So, no.
  • diy vagus nerve stimulation – There are a number of ways to do this. You can massage the right side of your neck… take a deep breath and then “bear down”, so that your chest cavity is pressurized.  You can also do certain breathing exercises. Vagus nerve stimulation is sometimes done with an implanted gadget, but it seems to me that doing it yourself is a lot less invasive — and less expensive.
  • perceive, recall, plan and perform system of task analysis – I think this has to do with executive functioning. I’ve heard of it before. I’m tired tonight, though, so I can’t say much about it.
  • hard work rewarded – Yes, it should always be. I know that my TBI recovery has been richly rewarded — and it’s been extremely hard, constant work. Still is. I’m used to it, but it still takes a lot out of me, some days. Like today.
  • the big four are: ________ setting, mental rehearsing/ visualization, ______________, and arousal control – This sounds like a quiz of some kind. Might also have to do with executive functioning… I should Google it and see what else I find.

But enough for now. It’s been a really long day, and I still have a lot to do…

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

1 thought on “#TBI Q and A for Today: Light sensitivity, vagus nerve, and hard work”

Talk about this - No email is required

