Moving on… and slowing it down

flash-electric
What just happened?

So, I didn’t see the neurologist yesterday. I saw the nurse practitioner (LPN). My MRI looks good – no sign of structural issues on the imaging. So, what I gather is that there’s really nothing the neuro can do for me. I must be one of those “miserable minority” people who just needs coaching to make the necessary changes in their life.

I’ve got no diagnosis from them – just symptoms. And I’m ambivalent about dealing with the LPN. They’re nice enough, but they’re also a bit snarky, making cracks about my employer, who has a bad reputation in the region. And they move too fast. It’s wild – they don’t seem to get that folks with processing speed issues can’t always keep up with them. And they looked at me strangely, when I had questions or needed clarification or when I was writing down my notes. They also didn’t do a very good job of communicating the information clearly to me. It was very scatter-shot, and they didn’t cover everything that had gotten tested. My bloodwork, for instance, never got mentioned. And they were kind of all over the place.

Not this again.

I really think it has to do with the nature of their work. There’s a lot going on, and the neuro is splitting their time between that practice and another practice they’re opening several states away, so the LPN’s workload is probably pretty heavy. It could also be that they’ve got an attitude because they’re “just an LPN” and they don’t get the respect they feel they deserve. It could also be because they’re a “jock” and they have this whole athlete mystique thing going on.

Long story short, they aren’t the most dignified or professional sort, and that’s a little irritating to me.

But that’s fine, because it will keep me away from them. I have the info about my MRI (more or less) and I’m not in any danger. I’ve got this whole headache thing, as well as balance issues, but apparently sleep is the problem — I don’t get enough of it, and that screws everything up.

The other thing I need to work on, is this new neuropsych. They’re really nice, but they talk too fast, and I can’t actually absorb everything they’re saying to me. It’s like a non-stop barrage of ideas and concepts and questions and statements. Good grief. They really need to slow down. I’m a little out of sorts, this morning, after talking to the LPN and the neuropsych yesterday. It was a lot to take in, and I’m still kind of shaking my head, wondering “What just happened?”

Anyway, I’ll focus on my sleep, I’ll work on my balance, and I’ll use my noggin about things. This new neuropsych looks like they’re going to be pretty good. But I don’t need a snarky LPN with an attitude (and possible emotional issues) to confuse me — and gloss over the details I need to cover. I’ll continue to take care of a lot of things myself.

Anyway, it’s a new day, and I’ve got plenty to keep me busy. So, I’ll do that. And work on my sleep.

I got 7 hours last night, which is better than I’ve been doing, lately.

It’s all a process.

Onward.

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

8 thoughts on “Moving on… and slowing it down”

  1. I think having an ABI, no matter what type you need to accept there is never enough sleep! And some things are harder to take in, it won’t always be the first time but it will soak in. I think you are doing s great justresearching and learning and working on ways to improve your symptoms and defecites. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I so know the feeling! I can’t make sense of the stuff they tell me either. They get impatient even though you are doing your best. It is so frustrating, especially when you used to be smart.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My daughter did months of balance therapy with physical therapists, including using a special sometimes which had moving plates or an environment that swayed around here. I can’t recall the name. But, the duration was months, and she still had the balance problems.

    It wasn’t until we did vision therapy that the balance problems resolved. She was even able to complete a 5k race this weekend, coming in within the top 10 runners in her division. That could not have happened without the VT.

    VT is not covered by most insurances, so we paid out-of-pocket and it was a therapy we delayed until we got the money (and had the time to devote to it). I really hope others can find the same success with it, and I really believe it targets the processing of information, including increasing her speed, which is still impaired, but had a 100% improvement so far. I would spend my time and money on VT instead of PT if I have to make the choice again in future.

    The headaches are less, not gone. But manageable more often without the emotional component flaring up and getting in the way of social interactions. Light sensitivity is reduced too, and maybe with the contacts we can get a better handle on this.

    Our experience may be different just as every brain injury is different, but consider looking on Pinterest and YouTube for VT information and techniques to try. I just don’t have as much faith in PT to resolve the balance problems compared to VT—and I want very much for other TBI patients to have some relief in this area. And over time, I hope some money can be put aside to eventually do clinically supervised VT that will really target your specific issues. In our area, VT averages about $125 per session. There were assessment tests that cost more, but some of those might be covered by vision insurance.

    Like

  4. Thanks again for the info. I need to get my eyes checked soon, so I will mention to the optometrist about my vision “oddness”. I too believe my balance issues might be related to that, but everyone I talk to says it’s either because I’m not sleeping enough, I’m moving too quickly, my blood pressure is off, or whatever. Even neuropathy in my feet/legs. Never once did they talk about my vision, even though I asked about it with the neuro LPN. We’ll see. I just don’t want to go on yet another boondoggle. It gets time-consuming. But if it actually helps, then that will be good. It’s something I can check into. Thanks again for the info and the validation. I’m really glad to hear your daughter is improving. That’s quite an accomplishment, with the race! Congrats to you all!

    Like

  5. http://locate.covd.org/
    That is the website to locate a behavioral optometrist. It is specialized as most optometrists will tell you there are not studies to support vision therapy. It is a reason insurance does not often cover the treatment.

    Often you will be evaluated with the Snellen chart only and if your vision is 20/20 (my daughter for example), then they don’t look further for possible convergence insufficiency, accommodative disorders and saccadic dysfunction, which is common post-TBI. Those are good key words to include in any Internet research for vision therapy treatment. It (along with neurofeedback) is starting to be recognized more in the brain injury research, but you know how much of a lag time can occur before it may be officially recognized as an important component of the treatment regimen for TBi & PCS. So much suffering and additional costs for the one with the injury in the meantime.

    Sad addendum to my earlier post above: spent half a day today with my daughter in ER due to visual disturbance with sudden, severe headache. I am not the neurologist or pediatrican, but she was eventuallu diagnosed with migraine with aura, and I am wondering of the recent race depleted her magnesium and it brought this on. She lost vision on her right side temporarily and was pretty disabled by this pain level. We have to follow up with her neurologist still, but she is on vacation currently. Emergency departments treat symptoms and decide admit or discharge for further treatment. We still don’t know *why* she had this happen or how to prevent it. We were warned to watch for this versus a seizure aura (that would be new to us too).

    Enjoy your holiday break. Thanks for always reading and responding to the comments.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, sorry to hear about your daughter – it sounds like good information to have, though. I hope she feels better soon, and you can find a way to manage those sorts of situations in the future. Always an adventure… And thanks for your kind wishes. Have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

