Only Lessons – Life After A Brain Injury

https://lifeafterabraininjurydotorg.wordpress.com/2016/03/24/431/

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

2 thoughts on “Only Lessons – Life After A Brain Injury”

  1. Hello broken brain team,
    I really enjoy ur blog it’s always interesting to read and full of helpful information, thanks.
    I had my TBI 10 yes back, my qts is what’s the best way to deal with balance issues? Surly there is drug that can help?
    Can u give me some info on this please,
    Regards
    Michael

    Like

  2. Hi Michael

    Balance is a tricky question. You can have problems because of injury to the brain in a number of ways – not all of which can be fixed with medication. After TBI, the cerebellum – the part of the brain that controls movement – can be injured, which can cause balance problems. Also, if your vision is affected, that can cause problems, too. I have a number of problems with balance, myself, so I have not yet figured it all out. But I’m working on it. My neuro says that my sleep problems probably have a lot to do with my issues, because I do not get enough regular sleep. And that causes all kinds of problems, other than sleep. I am working on my sleeping now – but it is taking some time to set right. Unfortunately, medicines like antivert (meclizine) can actually make things worse, so you have to be careful about it.

    I am working on my balance with exercises and resistance training, to strengthen my balance and give me a better foundation.

    My doctor prescribed something for me to help me sleep, but I’m not sure I want to take it. I am trying to fix my sleeping by myself.

    Some other things for balance:

    Slowing down – I generally move too fast.

    Making sure I don’t take unnecessary risks – especially when I am tired and not feeling on-balance.

    Avoid junk food – that just messes me up.

    Keep the same sleep schedule – Not always easy.

    Good luck -Stay safe

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

