Keep going, keep working

Time to dig in
Time to dig in

Yesterday was my last session with my old neuropsych. They’re relocating to a different state and semi-retiring, and they don’t do phone/video consultations, so it’s time to move on.

This is a pretty huge loss for me. Their help really made it possible for me to get through some tough times and mend my broken life. In many ways, they were more of an advisor than a “rehab therapist”, as they had a ton of life experience and in-depth knowledge, and they knew very well how to help me.

Even the times when they were off-base with their approach (which happened now and then), it really helped me to think things through and reach my own conclusions. In some ways, the times when they were wrong, were even more helpful than the times when they were right.

Anyway, it was an emotional parting. I will really miss them.

At the same time, I need to keep moving forward. With this new neuropsych.

I want to do things a little differently, this time. I’m in a very different place than I was in the past, so I’m able to be more creative with my thinking. I’ve decided to put down in writing the things that come to mind, and to make the effort to follow up and really make an effort to explain myself and provide details that get missed along the way.

An hour a week is not a lot of time to cover all the ground I need to cover. My brain tends to “stovepipe” — go deeply into specific areas, to the exclusion of all else. The result is an incredibly rich experience with much greater detail and elaboration than most achieve, but it also shuts out other “fringe” factors that might be worth considering. I get very hyper-focused, you see…

In some ways that narrowed thinking works very well for me, but in others, it gets in the way. And putting things into writing is good practice for sorting out my thoughts in a wider sense and bringing other considerations into play.

So, I’m doing that. Putting things in writing and letting it go. I’m going to be able to cover a lot more territory in writing, than in talking. And this new neuropsych may just learn a thing or two, in the process. I know they’re going to learn more about me – that’s for sure.

And today is a good day. I’m helping my spouse with an event they’re presenting at, and once we get there, I’ll have the afternoon to get some of my own work done. I’ll hang out in the van and write. And edit. And write some more. I’ve got some compelling projects in the works, and now that I’ve said “good-bye” to my old neuropsych, I feel like a lot of my attention and energy has freed up.

Or maybe I’ll just sleep. I didn’t get much rest last night — I got woken up early by an unsettled stomach. Ate too late last night. And didn’t get to bed at a good time.

Oh, well. Whatever happens today… happens.

Just gotta keep on keepin’ on.

Onward.

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

9 thoughts on “Keep going, keep working”

  1. I have received a ton of emails because I asked to be connected to this wonderful online thing – but I would like to share my story – HOW DO I DO THAT??!?? Please do let me know

    Like

  2. I wonder what you term as ‘Work’ when you work with a Neuro? I have had many(countless tests) & no one has suggested any work as ‘Follow-Up’ sounds like you have a busy-brain also and journaling can be very therapeutic for that…..keep up the good work. Peace out!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My work with my neuropsychologist has been centered around retraining my brain to not be such an idiot 😉 I talk through my life and think things through out loud, discuss my conundrum-of-the-day, and they help me sort through my options and make better decisions. I tend to choose poorly, when given a couple of options. The best option seldom looks the most attractive to me. As a result, I’ve been in physical danger a number of times (driving right into a serious wind storm, instead of pulling the car over for 15 minutes to wait for it to pass), and I’ve had a number of run-ins with the police that could have landed me in jail. I’ve also said and done some really stupid things at work that hurt my career and really set me back. Just getting my head in order is a full-time job with me, and my neuropsych helps me do that. It’s my understanding that this is not that common, but I got lucky. And my new neuropsych is also doing that sort of “rehab” work. A lot of it is about executive functioning and figuring out how to manage my numerous issues. That’s the Work we do, and more neuropsychs should do this. Additionally, more therapists and social workers should be trained in neuropsychology, because it explains a tremendous amount and is incredibly helpful in getting people back on track in a very real and long-lasting way.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s great. I have some mild Cognative issues that my mum likes to harp on but I live independently (I am 43 and have been rather Independent since 16) but I have a Psycologist I see every month who I talk through my every day drama with. Family can’t solve those problems.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk about this - No email is required

