Oh, sweet relief – it’s Friday!

happy-shadow-jumpAnd in another 12 hours, I’ll be home again, parked in front of the t.v. to watch a good movie with my spouse. We celebrated 25 years of marriage, last night, and it was a very sweet celebration. We didn’t go out. We didn’t do anything extravagant. I made us a couple of steaks, and we opened the cards and little presents we’d gotten for each other.

It was a modest celebration, really. It’s our Silver Anniversary, but we don’t have the money to get any big silver items. So we got some little silver mementos that really represent the commitment and love we still feel for each other — even more than ever, after all these years. We had cake. We took selfies with the cake — which is always a hilarious activity. We don’t have smartphones, so we have to take a bunch of shots with our little flip-phones, and we get some pretty hilarious pictures in the process.

It’s probably one of my favorite things to do together. It’s just so funny!

I got to bed a bit late, but how often do you celebrate something like that?

Plus, it’s Friday!

And I can sleep all weekend, if I like. I just have a few chores to take care of, but I can get them all out of the way in the morning and then go back to bed.

And sleep. And sleep some more.

I’m still wiped out from that business trip from the week-before-last. I can’t believe how long it’s taking me to rebound, but I’ve had my hands full.

PLUS, they’ve announced a possible timeline on the merger, and it’s happening about three months earlier than we thought it would.  So, I’m up in the air about what to do next. I’m going to sit tight and see how it all shakes out. And just do my thing, regardless of what they do.

Unless they lay me off. No, come to think of it, I’m still going to do my thing. Layoffs really can’t stop me. They may require a re-think and re-shuffle of my priorities, but they can’t stop me.

Onward.

Into Friday!

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

4 thoughts on “Oh, sweet relief – it’s Friday!”

  1. Happy Anniversary to you both! 25 years is IMPRESSIVE! I once asked a long-married colleague what he thought were the most important factors that contribute to longevity. He answered, “Values and Vision.” I’d add “*excellent* conflict-resolution and change-request skills in both partners.” You both must have amazing relationship communication skills. Congratulations!!

    I’ve been in only a few relationships where my partner understood how (or had the skills) to “fight fair” – so discussions quickly devolved into arguments that might as well have been of the “Your Mother wears army boots” variety, unless they stonewalled and refused to discuss to resolution. I don’t have the patience (or skills, apparently) to deal with that kind of behavior, and I seem to be incapable of simply sweeping things under the rug.

    Right or wrong, I lose respect and lose interest after continued unsatisfactory no-real-communication back and forths and, unless they are willing to go to a relationship therapist together and actually work on it, the “I’m outa’ here!” writing’s on the wall.

    I’m pretty forthcoming and usually stay too long, but eventually I act in my own best self-interest and leave if the deal-breakers I’ve been trying to discuss are stuck in cement. If it’s not a true partnership, I’d really rather be alone — tho’ my first choice has always been partnership, just not the “one woman’s auxiliary to my man’s life” variety 🙂

    Bittersweet, kinda’ funny thing: when I finally broke up with my exes, the majority of them looked stunned and replied, “I didn’t think you’d ever actually *leave* me.” To which I replied, “What? Do you think I just like to bitch?” Unfortunately, by the time I finally decide to go, there is nothing they can do to convince me to “give it just one more try.”

    Anyway, until I relocate I’m on relationship hiatus. Since I don’t really want to remain in Cincinnati, I don’t want to chance falling in love with “a Cincy boy” – this town seems to be quicksand for those who grew up here. My puppy TinkerToy and I are currently getting along just fine and are very happy together, however.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Like

  2. Thanks very much! You have a much more… shall we say, “involved” perspective on it, compared to my father, who says, “The key to a long marriage is, don’t leave, and don’t die.” Ha! Well, you’re probably both right. As for my spouse and me, we’re really like two odd birds who went through hell and back with others, and were lucky enough to come across each other. We both feel so strongly that we’re “home” with each other, and although there have been a lot of really rough years, to be honest, I never for once believed that leaving / breaking it off was an option. My spouse felt differently, back when I was freshly brain-injured, a number of years back. If I hadn’t gotten help, they would have left me in the dust. But I did get help. And not once did I actually realize that they were thinking of leaving me. So, I guess that’s a case of ignorance being bliss. Or something like that.

    I think it’s wise to hold out. I was living a semi-monastic life (sans the religion part) when I met my spouse, sworn to celibacy until the right one came along. All the drama wasn’t worth it, and I can tell you, there was drama. So many people had designs on me, it was crazy. Or so I was told. I was too busy off in my own world, rehabbing my apartment to notice, but it seems I escaped the clutches of some scheming individuals just in time!

    It’s all a grand adventure, is it not…?

    Good luck with your relocation. I’m sure there are clear skies ahead for you… just keep on keepin’ on…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like your Dad’s advice – only wish I were constitutionally capable of taking it! I probably expect more communication than most men are comfortable with.

    A female friend of mine’s partner is also a female – and I used to look at her relationship with envy. She says “Nah, you don’t want THIS. You have to stay up all night and talk about it all the time.” 🙂

    Won’t be relocating anytime soon – about to sign another 1-year lease – but plan to spend the year researching locations and setting myself up for a big move (especially sorting stuff & getting rid of a lot of dead wood).
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ha! That’s classic. And it’s true. You do have to stay up all hours and process. If this marriage weren’t such a good fit, I would have no patience for that sort of stuff.

    Smart, that you’re researching and planning your next steps… getting rid of dead wood. Makes total sense. Good luck with that.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

