So, the cat actually showed up last night

cat eyes on black background

I went out a couple of times last night, to get the neighbor’s cat in.

The first time, I went out around 7:00, called and shook his food container, called some more. No cat.

I went out again later, after 10:00, just to see if he’d show. I called him, turned on the front porch light, shook his food container, and there he was, peeking his head around the corner of the house.

That was a relief. He didn’t show on Saturday night, and although my neighbor told me he does that, sometimes, I felt a heck of a lot more comfortable, when I saw him looking at me.

Fortunately, he didn’t dawdle too much before coming in. And he was pretty ravenous, so I guess the idea of food was a motivator.

This morning, first thing, he didn’t want to come out. He wanted more food. I didn’t give him any more, but let him nose at his empty food bowl. I went for a quick walk down the road and back, then tried again, and this time, he did want to go out.

So, my work for the day is (probably) done. My neighbor might be back later today, or they may stay over another day and return tomorrow. I’ll hear from them later, what they decide to do.

I did sleep better last night – got 7-1/2 hours, instead of 4-1/2 hours. That’s an improvement.

And I’m glad I don’t have to take care of animals, anymore. My spouse and I had cats for many, many years. They were expensive, time-consuming, and a source of constant work. We didn’t mind it at the time, because we loved our cats. But now that we don’t have to do all the maintenance, care, vet trips (and vet bills), I’m not complaining. And neither is my spouse.

Every now and then, we think about getting another cat… maybe even a dog. Then we think about it some more.

Nah.

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

2 thoughts on “So, the cat actually showed up last night”

  1. 7.5 hours sleep again, huh? Mmmmmmmmm…..not sure how many cats you had previously, I only have the one. Not so expensive and aside from being my Fur-Baby? She is my mental healthcare provider.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk about this - No email is required

