And the cat didn’t die

cat crouching in the shadows, looking out from the dark
Here, kitty, kitty………….. Oh, forget it.

The cat wouldn’t come in the last night I was watching it. I texted the owner and said so.

But the owner (my neighbor) was fine with it – the cat does that, now and then.

Totally not my fault.

And it seemed like they meant it, too.

So, now I can relax.

And get back to my regularly scheduled program.

No animals were harmed in the making of this movie.

The cat is exhausted and glad the owner is home, but he’s healthy and still alive.

That’s what matters most.

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

2 thoughts on “And the cat didn’t die”

  1. But you understand cats right? They do what they damn well please. What you want to hell! And fear that you might have thrown caution to the wind and ruined a new trusting relationship with the neighbours. Yeah, they don’t care. If the cat was still alive and happy when they returned you did great! Some cats need 9 lives! 🐾🐾🐾🐾

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks – yes, I do understand cats. I just hate that one, so I’ve been feeling conflicted about caring for him. He’s a problem. But for a few days, he was my problem to take care of. Funny, how that goes, sometimes.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

