I try to stay away from police

The latest police shooting I’ve heard about involved a man with a TBI. His wife told the police he had a TBI. They shot him. Killed him.

I try to stay away from police, because as wrong as it is that any American has to fear for their life because of a misunderstanding by law enforcement, it happens.

And I don’t want it to happen to me.

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

10 thoughts on “I try to stay away from police”

  1. None of us are safe anymore, actually- though until police violence happens to someone YOU know and care about, I guess it’s easier to pretend otherwise.

    I now find it practically impossible to trust the police anymore, since my colleague’s mentally ill son was murdered — shot twice in the back at point blank range by a police officer, on the balcony of a local pub and restaurant where, until they burst through the back door onto the deck and tackled him like a swat team, J. was having lunch. Restaurant witnesses reported that he had caused NO trouble, and he was well regarded there.

    The Cincinnati press were vultures. P. had to hide out at my house because she could not go home on return from the hospital where she had just been told her son was dead; we did a quick pass of a connecting street in my van and saw their presence outside her home. Despite witness statements to the contrary, they reported the “official” version, and J. was demonized. Anything to sell a few more papers.

    The murder was supposedly “in self-defense,” since he was reported to have a gun tucked in the waistband of his pants — as several officers held him face down, arms and legs immobilized as he was being tazed – NO way to reach for a weapon of any kind. The only injury to police was due to a taser mistake by another officer. Much more to that story – witnessed, by the way, not that it mattered. [search for: When “Breaking News” becomes Personal – on my blog for a “real time” account].

    Imagine anxiety being triggered by a siren, a police car, or a uniformed officer at a convenience store! There is little to do to heal from the events in that reality.

    Staying away from anyone with a gun is always a smart move – but when we feel we must stay away from those tasked to protect us, something is terribly, terribly wrong.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We’re not necessarily seeing a change in police behavior. There’s a long legacy of police as thugs, beating suspects with rubber hoses to get confessions. Under former mayor and cop, Frank Rizzo, the Philly police wore uniforms modeled on Hitler’s SS. If you look at the role of cops in the south in either killing or failing to step in to stop the lynching of blacks, there’s no honor or integrity involved. It was only intervention by the Feds that led to some change. Now we have cell phone cameras, so we are getting to see some of what is happening. However, police unions have developed a “cult of infallibility” in which they never admit that a cop might make a mistake, and that’s preventing real reform. And then we have people like Trump who are insulated from the problems that real people face and still believe in the mythology about law enforcement with which a lot of us were raised.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is a very fair decision. TBI/ABI, is very misunderstood by police inforcement. We might be seen as under the influence, violent, do I need to go on? One of the projects the self-Advocacy group is working on is getting to educate the public and the police trainees about ABI. I can appreciate why you might want to avoid the police if you live in the States.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes… I steer clear. I know there are some pockets of good, and there are a lot of police officers who are aware and able to control themselves. But it’s impossible to tell the difference from a distance.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

