Morning fog… morning agitation

village in valley with fog and sunrise
Today I’m feeling foggy, like this village – but less pretty (Photo credit: Sebastian Unrau)

One of the most bothersome parts of TBI is the irritability that comes when I’m foggy and tired. Like today. And last night.

I have had a really long and full week. I wasn’t expecting it to be as challenging as it has been — a lot of people have been out of the office at a conference, so it’s been quiet. Kind of.

Lots of stuff has “blown up”, though. And that hasn’t been good. I’m taking it personally, when projects don’t go as planned, even though there are whole teams of people not bothering to pay attention, these days.

So, that’s been exciting. And tiring.

Meanwhile, at home, things have been wearing, as well. I don’t get a break, when I get home. It’s more work. Everything feels like work.

Of course, if I can get some extra rest, it’s fine. But that hasn’t been happening. If anything, I’ve had earlier days than usual, lately, and that’s been taking a toll, as well.

The toll is angry outbursts.

Getting more tweaked about things that don’t normally bother me.

Blowing things out of proportion.

And then feeling terrible about myself, because I couldn’t keep my cool.

So, I’ll try again today. Take a nap later.

And keep going.

Onward.

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

2 thoughts on “Morning fog… morning agitation”

  1. I hear you. You gotta let things at work that are not your responsibility fall. Otherwise, you would never get to leave. Friday night here and I’ve definitely done too much. It hurts to put weight on my left leg. It hurts and it’s my leg I don’t feel very well. Disaster!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks – sorry to hear about your leg. On the positive side, I’m not the only one who is feeling “the burn” of the situation. Fortunately, others (who are more responsible for this mess, than I) are feeling it, too. That’s some comfort — for me, not for them.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

