Changing Seasons and Sensory Sensitivities

This sounds really familiar!

Musings of an Aspie

These past few weeks I’ve had a sensory comfort zone the size of a postage stamp. There are a few things playing into my increase in sensory sensitivities* and one of them is definitely the change of seasons. Transitioning from summer to winter or vice versa is surprisingly demanding.

I think the biggest factor is the constant sensory adaptation. During the winter and summer, the days are pretty consistent from one to the next. It might be uncomfortably hot or cold, but at least my body knows what to expect each day and dressing appropriately doesn’t require a lot of forethought.

Spring and fall, on the other hand, are filled with unpredictable days. Yesterday was t-shirt weather. Today I have on sweats and a thermal shirt. Three days ago I left all of the windows open overnight because it was uncomfortably warm in the house. This morning I dashed…

View original post 994 more words

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

2 thoughts on “Changing Seasons and Sensory Sensitivities”

  1. It was really familiar to me too BB, and others I know with brain injury too. The specifics were very insightful. I have migraine too which adds to the sensory difficulties. I am struggling with all this right now, with seasonal change. I hadnt thought of my frustration about my clothes and how they dont seem to fit or ever be quite right in how they feel as part of that as being a sensory issuem that was helpful. the adjustment to the changes is a little easier after 16 years. Familiar perhaps, not so confusing about what’s happening. i use the barometer and weather forecast too, my feelings of hot and cold are different from what the barometer says, so i have to sort of keep both things in mind. also realise if i am getting very cold it is probably overload and a cue to slow down or stop. anyone else have any tips?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Headaches are one of my personal “barometers”. I know if I’m getting one, I need to change things for the better.

    Same thing with vertigo. If I’m off balance, I know I need to watch what I eat and also get more sleep.

    Chronic pain, too. My body is pretty clear about when it’s having trouble and I need to chill out, take better care of myself.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

