Back to work – taking it as it comes

memory training image - circles and lines and squares and triangles
Study this image for a few minutes, then read the post below… and then draw it afterwards.

Work has been such a challenge, lately. It’s just one mess-up after another (created by other people) that I and my team have to clean up. And also, my piece of things has been really flagging, as well.

I do know that I’ve contributed to this, in my own way. I was not as engaged as I should have been, early on. At the same time, nobody running the show ever explained to the whole team what the depth and scope of the whole project was, so I had literally no way of knowing just how far-reaching and pervasive the issues would be.

It’s a case of people managing the present situation, but not leading into the future. That’s where things fell down. There was no over-arching leadership.

Regardless of what the cause was, now we have to deal with the situation and make it right. Because a lot of people are being impacted by the snafus, and there are a lot of angry customers.

Oh, well.

What’s required, under these conditions, is to keep a cool head, stay locked on the target(s) in front of me, and continue marching forward… without getting caught up in the drama. There’s too much drama. I haven’t heard back from my old company about my job application (I suspect they’ll take a pass, because I don’t have a college degree — I have 25+ years of solid experience in my field, and many different key positions, but I was unable to finish my degree for a number of reasons). The company before was fine with me trading on my experience, but now the management is different — very European, which is very focused on higher education (because in many cases, it’s basically free there) — so my lack of a degree may work against me.

Well, whatever. I’ll just keep slogging, one day at a time, and keep looking around, on and off. I’ve got an updated resume, so that’s a big plus. I also have my many different projects to keep me busy. So, I’ll channel my frustrations into them, and also work at keeping a level head, keeping my system from going haywire. That, alone, will pay off.

It’s all a process. And I can get set back at any time, if I let myself “drift”. Brain injury recovery doesn’t just happen and then stop, when “you get there”. It’s an ongoing thing, just like life. And I have to keep reminding myself that I need to keep retraining my brain to handle these novel situations. Because the way I think has changed. The way I am has changed. The way I adapt has changed. So, I need to adapt to my adaptations.

Well, it keeps me on my toes.

Onward.

OK, here’s my attempt at the image:

memory test - circles and lines and squares and triangles
Results of my memory test – pretty good, I have to say.

Okay, not too bad. I got the general orientation right, but I’m missing some circles – the white one at the top center, and another black one at the bottom triangle. I also extended the angled line on the right beyond where it should be. And I reversed the black and white circles at the top. Overall, I have to say it’s not that bad. I’ll try again later today, to see how I did.

Author: brokenbrilliant

I am a long-term multiple (mild) Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI or TBI) survivor who experienced assaults, falls, car accidents, sports-related injuries in the 1960s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. My last mild TBI was in 2004, but it was definitely the worst of the lot. I never received medical treatment for my injuries, some of which were sports injuries (and you have to get back in the game!), but I have been living very successfully with cognitive/behavioral (social, emotional, functional) symptoms and complications since I was a young kid. I’ve done it so well, in fact, that virtually nobody knows that I sustained those injuries… and the folks who do know, haven’t fully realized just how it’s impacted my life. It has impacted my life, however. In serious and debilitating ways. I’m coming out from behind the shields I’ve put up, in hopes of successfully addressing my own (invisible) challenges and helping others to see that sustaining a TBI is not the end of the world, and they can, in fact, live happy, fulfilled, productive lives in spite of it all.

6 thoughts on “Back to work – taking it as it comes”

  1. So glad you are doing the pictures again-ha, mine has all of the circles, but the open vs. shaded ones are all off except on the second square-I nailed that one! Will have to show to my kiddo when she’s around, though I’m the one out and about more as I’m starting PT for my thumb today (previously torn ligaments in August).

    She has been feeling the need to try and expose herself to more light in small increments with the goal of becoming hat-free. She’s got the contacts, but still needs to cut the lighting glare. I like that she and you are both on the same groove of continuing to work at what needs to improve instead of accepting where you’re at. She took the PSAT this past weekend without any accommodations in place and it was pretty rough on her physically. I get that it’s hard on lots of the high school kids, but man, was she pale and looking off. All that thinking seems to really require a lot of extra hydration–which wasn’t allowed during the hours of the test. She doesn’t take as long to recover though–I think the running for extra oxygen to the brain and increasing the cognitive load (through learning to play music too) really has made a difference lately.

    Watched a youth soccer game Sunday – and during the course of the game, three players took blows to the head from the opposing team. There was also a broken clavicle suffered by one player, but I’m trying at this point to get more information from the players that were hit in the face/right ear near the temple as three seems way more than a coincidence. This will result in an incident report–trying to make a difference in keeping kids safe!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to hear you are still employed, and disgusted every time I hear about truly lousy management that looks at “metrics” rather than experience to make hiring and firing decisions — European, American or martian! “Initials” simply mean the person jumped through scholastic hoops that have relatively little to do with “real” world experience.

    As I’ve said here before, not all of us are visual processors, despite how many articles you read that says we are. I am only successful with the puzzles you’ve posted when I put the relationships into WORDS. (i.e., from the last puzzle, “3 connected circles, no line at the top, flags with the points downwards in a clockwise relationship, cross bisecting the right line, etc.). When I do that, I can redraw it accurately EVEN a day later. Any attempt to “memorize” visually has always been a dismal failure – time and time again.

    Good luck going forward.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Change is definitely possible. I can now start my car without buckling my seatbelt, and I don’t flip out at the sound of the beep-beep-beep seatbelt alarm anymore. I used to practically go through the roof, if that thing started beeping, but over time I’ve gotten used to it. I also find myself less sensitive to light. But it all depends on how rested I am. If I’m really tired, all bets are off.

    Yeah, those blows to the head don’t sound legitimate. Was anyone video taping the game? Maybe if an incident gets reported AND teams know that they will be video taped (for future evidence) that will be a deterrent. We live in a WWE culture, where people don’t take that stuff seriously. Especially with presidential candidates making fun of people who have concussions / PTSD for being “soft”. That doesn’t help, either.

    Good luck with your inquiry. It’s important. And thank you for your work.

    Like

Talk about this - No email is required

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.